Bangla put Lanka in to bat in Champions opener

Published: Saturday, October 7, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mohali (Chandigarh):Bangladesh captain Habibul Bashar won the toss and opted to bowl against Sri Lanka in the first qualifying match for the ICC Champions Trophy here today.

''There is plenty of grass on the pitch and I thought it would be a good idea to bowl first in such conditions,'' Bashar said after winning the toss.

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardane, meanwhile, said he was looking forward to bat first on the pitch and therefore was not disappointed at losing the toss.

''Actually, I was planning to bat first anyway. So, its a good toss to lose. We are looking forward to put up a good score,'' Jayawardane said.

The two teams - along with defending champions West Indies and Zimbabwe - will be vying for the two qualifiers' berths in the main event of the Champions Trophy.

Lankans off to a good start: Lankan openers Sanath Jayasuriya (31, 44 balls) and Upal Tharanga (29, 32 balls) put up a good parternership of 68 runs in 13 overs. The Bangla opening attack had no impact on the Lankan openers, who hit five boundries apiece and going great guns

Teams: Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Marvan Atapattu, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Upul Tharanga, Chamara Kapugedera, Tilakratne Dilshan, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar (capt), Shahriar Nafees, Mohammad Ashraful, Aftab Ahmed, Sakib Al Hasan, Abdur Razzak, Khaled Mashud (wk), Mohammad Rafique, Rajin Saleh, Farhad Reza, Mashrafe Mortaza and Syed Rasel.

Umpires: Daryl Harper and Steve Bucknor, third umpire Simon Taufel, fourth umpire Billy Bowden.

Match Referee: Mike Procter


Write Comments