Zimbabwe elect to bat against West Indies

Published: Sunday, October 8, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Ahmedabad:Zimbabwe captain Prosper Utseya today won the toss and elected to bat in their ICC Champions Trophy qualifying match against defending champions West Indies at the Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera here today.

West Indies left out Runako Morton, Fidel Edwards and Corry Collymore from the side, while Zimbabwe left out T Duffin, T Mupariwa and G Strydom.

The teams:

West Indies: Brian Lara (C), R Sarwan, C Gayle, S Chanderpaul, D Bravo, W Hinds., D Smith, M Samuels, C Baugh (WK), I Bradshaw, J Taylor. Coach Bennet King.

Zimbabwe: P Utseya (captain), C J Chibhabha, E Chigumbura, A J Ireland, T Kamungozi, H Masakadza, S Matsikenyeri, T V Mufambisi, E C Rainsford H P Rinke, BRM Taylor (WK). Coach Kevin Curran

Umpires: Mark Benson (England), Rudi Koertzen (South Africa), Third umpire: Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Reserve umpire: Asad Rauf (Pakistan)

Match Referee; Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)


Write Comments