Rest of India comfortably poised in Irani tie

Published: Monday, October 16, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Nagpur:Rest of India (RoI) were comfortably placed at 45 without loss at the end of the second day's play in the Irani Trophy match after being set a target of 114 for victory by Uttar Pradesh.

Captain Wasim Jaffer with 25 and Gautam Gambhir with 18 were at the crease when stumps were drawn. RoI now need 69 more runs for victory with 10 wickets in hand.

Earlier, UP were bundled out for 166 in 50.1 overs in their second innings, ending up merely 113 runs ahead of RoI. Only skipper Jyoti Yadav (38), Shivkant Shukla (33) and Gyanendra Pande (32) salvaged some prestige. As many as six UP batsmen failed to reach double digits, with three going back for a duck.

V R V Singh inflicted the most damage on UP by capturing four wickets for 40 runs. Zaheer Khan and L Balaji scalped two wickets each.

UP had to toil in the morning to wrap up the RoI first innings, taking 90 minutes to send the three remaining batsmen back after RoI added 70 to their overnight score of 131 for seven. S Badrinath had an excellent outing, remaining unbeaten with 80 runs to his credit with 16 hits to the fence. He completed his 50 off 77 balls with 10 boundaries.


RoI first innings (Overnight 131 for 7): Wasim Jaffer c Shukla b Praveen Kumar 45 Gautam Gambhir b Praveen Kumar 20 Robin Uttappa c Shukla b Srivastava 8 Venugopal Rao c Amir Khan b Srivastava 0 Dinesh Karthik c Shukla b Praveen Kumar 11 S Badrinath not out 80 Murli Karthik run out 5 Zaheer Khan b Srivastava 1 L Balaji c Rizwan b Shalabh Srivastava 15 V R V Singh b Shalabh Srivastava 00 Pragyan Ojha c Shivkant Shukla b Avinash Yadav 03 Extras (4 b, 1 lb, 8 nb) 13 Total all out in 262 minutes, 53.3 overs 201 FOW: 8/155 9/155 10/201 Bowling: Ashish Zaidi: 8-1-36-0 Shalabh Srivastava: 20.3-4-74-5 Praveen Kumar: 17-4-64-3 Avinash Yadav: 8-2-22-1.

UP second innings: Praveen Kumar c M Kartik b Zaheer Khan 00 Shivkant Shukla c Jaffer b Balaji 33 Tanmay Srivastava run out (Gautam Gambhir) 00 Ravikant Shukla c D Karthik b Khan 08 R Shamshad c D Karthik b Singh 10 Jyoti Yadav c Uthappa b Singh 38 Gyanendra Pande c Khan b M Kartik 32 Amir Khan c M Kartik b Balaji 26 Avinash Yadav c D Karthik b Singh 00 Shalabh Srivastava not out 05 Ashish Zaidi b Singh 01 Extras (1 b, 4 lb, 6 nb, 2 w) 13 Total all out in 50.1 overs 166 FOW: 1/0 2/4 3/39 4/54 5/55 6/90 7/145 8/159 9/159 10/166 Bowling: Zaheer Khan: 12-4-34-2 L Balaji: 13-3-46-2 V R V Singh: 14.1-3-40-4 M Kartik: 8-1-38-1 P Ojha: 3-1-6-0.

RoI second innings: Wasim Jaffer batting 25 Gautam Gambhir batting 18 Extras (2 lb) 02 total for no loss in 8 overs 45 Bowling: Shalab Srivastava: 4-0-25-0 Praveen Kumar: 4-1-18-0.


Write Comments