Zimbabwe put Bangladesh in to bat

Published: Friday, October 13, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Jaipur:Zimbabwe captain Prosper Utseya elected to field after winning the toss against Bangladesh in a dead rubber of a Champions Trophy qualifying match.

Bangladesh and Zimbabwe have both been knocked out of the main tournament after suffering two defeats in as many games against Sri Lanka and defending champions West Indies in the qualifying round here on Friday.

Sri Lanka and the West Indies have qualified for the main draw that features world champions Australia, India, England, South Africa, New Zealand and Pakistan.

Bangladesh made two changes from the side that lost to the West Indies by 10 wickets in the previous game, replacing Mohammad Ashraful and Syed Rasel with Rajin Saleh and Mehrab Hossain.

Hossain is making his one-day debut.


Zimbabwe: Prosper Utseya (captain), Gary Brent, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Anthony Ireland, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Ed Rainsford, Gregory Strydom and Brendan Taylor

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar (captain), Shahriar Nafees, Khaled Mashud, Mohammad Rafique, Mashrafe Mortaza, Rajin Saleh, Abdur Razzak, Aftab Ahmed, Farhad Reza, Saqibul Hasan and Mehrab Hossain

Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WI) and Daryl Harper (AUS)

TV umpire: Simon Taufel (AUS)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL)


Write Comments