South Zone U-22: Karnataka in driver~~s seat

Published: Thursday, October 19, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad:Karnataka scored 401 for five before declaring their first innings closed against Goa in the South Zone U-22 inter-state cricket tournament here yesterday.

Electing to bat Karnataka batsmen sent the Goa bowlers on leather hunt. Gaurav Dhiman slammed a century (135, 106 balls, 18x4), while K B Pawan (82, 120 balls, 13x4), Amit Varma (91, 121 balls, 15x4) and M K Manjunath (51 not out, 60 balls, 6x4) also came good with the bat. Krishna Sawant (2/69) was the most successful bowler for Goa.

In reply, Goa slumped to 31 for four in 15 overs.

Karnataka bowlers Raju Bhatkal took two wickets while Appanna took one wicket.

In another match, hosts Hyderabad restricted Tamil Nadu to 188 for 9 in 88 overs. Medium pacers Kaushik Reddy (3/40), M P Arjun (3/46) and spinner Ashwin Yadav (2/43) were the pick of the Hyderabad bowlers.

At one stage Tamil Nadu lost five wickets for just 60 runs off 34 overs. But 110 run partnership in 270 balls for 6th wicket between R Srinivasan (56, 146 balls, 6x4) and S Suresh Kumar (57, 150 balls, 7x4) helped them to recover.

Kerala scored 216 off 89.5 overs losing five wickets against Andhra. Robert Fernandez (95, 241 balls, 11x4), Vincent Gomes (70, 176 balls, 11x4) and Rohan Prem (24) were the main scoreres. For Andhra's Vijay Kumar (3/27) was the most successful bowler.

Brief Scores:

Karnataka 410/5 decl (Dhiman 135, A.Varma 91, Pawan 85, Manjunath 51) Vs Goa 31/4

Tamilnadu 188/9 (Srinivasan 56, Suresh Kumar 57, Kaushik Reddy 3/40, Arjun 3/46) Vs Hyderabad

Kerala 216/5 (Robert Fernandez 95, Gomes 70, Vijay Kumar 3/27) Vs Andhra Pradesh


Write Comments