New Zealand bat against Sri Lanka

Published: Friday, October 20, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming has won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka in a key group B match of the Champions Trophy at the Brabourne stadium.

Sri Lanka must win to stay in contention for the semi-finals after losing their opening match to Pakistan in Jaipur.

New Zealand, who upset South Africa here earlier this week, will be virtually assured of playing the semi-finals with their second consecutive win.

Paceman Shane Bond and all-rounder Scott Styris returned for the Black Caps after missing the previous match through injury. They replaced James Franklin and Peter Fulton.

Sri Lanka made one change, bringing in young batsman Chamara Kapugedara in place of seamer Dilhara Fernando.


New Zealand: Stephen Fleming (capt), Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, Brendon McCullum (wk), Hamish Marshall, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Scott Styris, Daniel Vettori and Lou Vincent.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Sanath Jayasuriya, Marvan Atapattu, Upul Tharanga, Tillkaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedara, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Rudi Koertzen (RSA)

TV umpire: Mark Benson (ENG)

Match referee: Mike Procter (RSA)


Write Comments