South Zone register 250-run win over West

Published: Sunday, October 22, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Indore:Anil Kumble and S Sreesanth bundled out West Zone for 168 runs giving South Zone a comfortable 250-run win on the fourth and final day of the Duleep Trophy match here today.

Chasing a target of 419 at the Usha Raje Cricket Ground, West Zone resumed from their overnight score of 60 for three and lost the remaining seven wickets for 108 runs.

D Jadhav and Zaheer Khan were the only batsmen who resisted the South attack a little. Jadhav scored 43 and Zaheer contributed 33.

No other batsman contributed significantly.

Anil Kumble, who picked up five wickets in the first innings, took three this time. S Sreesanth and PP Ojha claimed two each while one wicket was scalped by Robin Uthappa and Venugopal Rao each.


South Zone: First innings 291 runs

West Zone: First innings 180 runs

South Zone: Second innings 307 for 9 declared

West Zone Second innings: C Poojara lbw b Uthappa 5 Dhiraj jadhav lbw b Kumble 43 Rohit Sharma c G Rao b Sreesanth 7 J Martin b Kumble 19 Amol Muzumdar lbw b Kumble 0 Parthiv Patel lbw b Rao 14 Ravindra Jadeja b Sreesanth 21 Rajesh Pawar c Kumble b Ojha 21 Zaheer Khan c Kumble b Ojha 33 Siddarth Trivedi not out 1 S Bahutule did not bat (injured)

Extras: (NB-0, WB-0,LB-2,B-2 ) 4 Total (In 55.3 overs for 9 wickets) 168

Fall of wickets: 1/9 2/20 3/60 4/60 5/79 6/101 7/116 8/161 9/168

Bowling: S Sreesanth 16-6-59-2 Anil Kumble 15-5-37-3 PP Ojha 12.3-1-43-2 Y Venugopal Rao 7-2-18-1 R Uthappa 5-3-7-1


Write Comments