Kerala defeats Goa by innings and seven runs

Published: Wednesday, October 25, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad:Kerala defeated Goa by an innings and seven runs while Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh gained first innings lead over their rivals Karnataka and Hyderabad in the third round of the South Zone U-22 cricket tournament for C K Nayudu trophy being played here today.

Goa, who were shot out for a paltry 94 in the first innings, were all out for 222 in 103.2 overs in their second innings against Kerala. Barring Rupesh Sarvnkar (59, 158 balls, 8x4), Kashinath Chari (23), Sarvesh Naik (22), H Shetgaonkar (21) and Rahul Borkar (20) others could not resist Kerala bowlers. Among them Robert Fernandez took 4 for 42 while R Vincent took 2 for 39 and Aneesh took 2 for 43.

With this 5 points Kerala took their tally to 7 from three matches, while Goa is yet to open their account.

In another match Karnataka who were all out for 187 in their first innings, were forced to follow on and were all out for 174 in 82 overs in their second innings. D Patil (41, 4x4), Verma (37 n.o.

7x4), Sunil Raju (30, 4x4) and Ganesh (21 n.o. 4x4) were chief contributors.

Ashwin (3/41) and Yomahesh (2/41) were the pick of Tamil Nadu bowlers. At the end of three matches Tamil Nadu has 2 points from this game and Karnataka were on 7 points.

In another match Hyderabad survived with their good performance in their second innings, thanks to sensible batting by D Rushi Raj (67, 163 balls, 8x4, 1x6), S Anoop Pai (34, 5x4), P S Niranjan (50 n o 99 balls, 8x4) and Md Shakeer (51, 71 balls, 7x4, 1x6).

Andhra bowler Vijay Kumar took 2 for 39. With first innings lead Andhra got 2 points and took their tally from three matches to 4 points while Hyderabad which drew blank from this match were on 7 points from three matches.

Brief Scores: Hyderabad 1st innings 172 all out, Andhra 1st innings 330/5 declared, Hyderabad 2nd innings 245/5 declared in 86 overs.

Goa 1st innings 94 all out, Kerala 1st innings 323/9 declared, Goa 2nd innings 222 all out in 103.2 overs.

Tamil Nadu 1st innings 411/8 declared. Karnataka 1st innings 187 all


Write Comments