India win toss, elect to bat against Aussies

Published: Sunday, October 29, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mohali:Indian captain Rahul Dravid has won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in the decisive league match of the Champions Trophy.

The winner will not only qualify for the semi-finals but also top group A ahead of the West Indies and set up a last-four clash with New Zealand here on November 1.

Group B champions South Africa will meet the West Indies in the second semi-final in Jaipur on November 2.

India are without the injured duo of Yuvraj Singh and Ajit Agarkar. They were replaced by Mohammad Kaif and Shanthakumaran Sreesanth.

India went in with an additional batsman in Dinesh Mongia in place of left-arm seamer Rudra Pratap Singh.

Australia retained the same combination which defeated England in Jaipur on October 21.


India: Rahul Dravid (capt), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Mongia, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Shane Watson, Andrew Symonds.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL) and Steve Bucknor (WIS)

TV umpire: Mark Benson (ENG)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)


Write Comments