Sachin to present ~~Player of the Year~~ trophy

Published: Wednesday, November 1, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:Sachin Tendulkar will be bestowed a rare honour of presenting the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Player of the Year at this year's ICC Awards ceremony scheduled here for Friday.

Some of the top names in cricket will be on hand on Friday night to present this years ICC Awards, including Imran Khan, Sunil Gavaskar and Tony Greig.

Imran, the former Pakistan captain and all-rounder who inspired his country to an ICC Cricket World Cup triumph in 1992, will present the inaugural Captain of the Year award and also offer his vision of cricket in a speech beforehand.

Batting legend Sunil Gavaskar will announce the ICC Test and ODI teams of the Year and present those players present with their unique hand-crafted caps on the night. Gavaskar, who is one of only five players to have scored more than 10,000 Test runs, was chairman of the Selection Panel that picked the two teams of the year.

Now that the womens game is under the auspices of ICC, the ICC Awards includes a category for the Womens Player of the Year. This will be presented by former Australian wicketkeeper and now the ICCs Global Cricket Academy Director of Coaching Rodney Marsh.

Another important feature of the ICC Awards is that they acknowledge the integral part umpires play in the smooth running of any cricket match. The excellent decision-making and communication skills of the top umpires are part of what makes a good game so enjoyable. ICCs chief match referee Ranjan Madugalle will present the Umpire of the Year Award.

Tony Greig and Greg Chappell will be on hand to present the ODI Player of the Year and Test Player of the Year awards while Tendulkar will give out the top award of the night, the Player of the Year, who will receive the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.


Write Comments