Hyderabad wins South Zone Under-22 Tourney

Published: Thursday, November 2, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hyderabad:Hosts Hyderabad won the Ramachander Rao Trophy for U-22 South Zone Cricket Tournament with 10 points from five matches here today.

Kerala, with nine points, and Karnataka (8) stood second and third, while Andhra (7), Tamil Nadu (4) and Goa (1) were left way behind the leaders.

Hyderabad, with eitht points, stood third in run-quotient before the crucial fifth league match which they drew with Karnataka but gained first innings lead.

Hyderabad first bowled out Karnataka for a paltry 91 in 36.2 overs. M P Arjun (4/20) and Kaushik Reddy (3/48) rattled Karnataka's batting line order.

Later, Hyderabad gained crucial first innings lead after making 141 before losing two wickets in 32.3 overs. Danny Derek Prince (59, 132 minutes, 91 balls, 8x4) and D B Ravi Teja (56 N O 151 min, 94 balls, 7x4) were the chief scorers for Hyderabad.

In the other matches Tamil Nadu drew with Kerala while Andhra drew with Goa Points: Hyderabad 10, Kerala 9, Karnataka 8, Andhra 7, Tamil Nadu 4 and Goa 1.

Brief scores:

At Rajiv Stadium: Karnataka first innings 96 all out in 36.2 overs.

Hyderabad 1st innings 141/2 in 32.3 overs.

At Gymkhana Grounds: Tamil Nadu first innings 262 all out in 107.5 overs, Kerala first innings 36/0 in 25.2 overs.

At NFC Grounds: Andhra first innings 265/6, Goa first innings 219 all out in 63.3 overs. Andhra second innings 70/4 in 8.2 overs.


Write Comments