Jayawardene bags Captain of the Year award

Published: Friday, November 3, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore:Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene has won the Captain of the year ICC award for the year 2006. Meanwhile, both Rahul Dravid and Yuvraj Singh--who were the strong Indian contenders for the Best captain and ODI player awards respectively--have been ignored.

Australian skipper Ricky Ponting, who had a fine run with the bat this year, has won the Player of the Year Award.

List of the award winners:

Player of the Year: Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Captain of the Year: Mahela Jayawardene (SL)
Test player of the year: Ricky ponting (Aus)
ODI player of the year: Mike Hussey (Aus)
Umpire of the Year: Simon Taufel (Aus)
Emerging player of the Year: Ian Bell (Eng)
Women cricketer of the year: Karen Rolton (Eng)
Spirit of cricket: England


Write Comments