Windies bat first in ICC Trophy summit clash

Published: Sunday, November 5, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:West Indian captain Brian Lara won the toss and elected to bat in the Champions Trophy final against Australia at the Brabourne stadium here today.

Australia included left-arm spinner Brad Hogg in place of seamer Mitchell Johnson on a wicket that is expected to assist turn later in the day-night international.

Seamer Corey Collymore replaced Dwayne Smith to add experience to the Windies pace battery.

Bracken stem Windies run riot: Nathan Bracken brought Australia back into the game after a blazing start from West Indies in Champions Trophy finals.

The Caribbean side had a flier scoring 80 in the first 10 overs thanks to some lusty hitting by Chris Gayle (37 off 27 balls 6X4s, 2X6) and Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

Bracken did the damage control by taking the first three wickets. First wicket to fall was Chanderpaul, who played on to a slower one before scoring 27 off 18 balls.

Sarwan (7) followed immediately to the pavilion after getting a leading edge to give a regulation catch to Brad Hogg stationed at mid-on.

Bracken produced a peach of a delivery to remove in-form Chris Gayle. Gayle was deceived by away cutting ball which disturbed his timber.

Windies were 80/3 in 10 overs with skipper Lara (0) and Bravo (0) were at the crease.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (Capt), Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, Brett Lee, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Shane Watson, Andrew Symonds and Brad Hogg.

West Indies: Brian Lara (Capt), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Runako Morton, Dwayne Bravo, Carlton Baugh, Corey Collymore, Ian Bradshaw, Jerome Taylor and Marlon Samuels.

Umpires: Rudi Koertzen (RSA) and Aleem Dar (Pak)

TV umpire: Billy Bowden (NZ)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL)


Write Comments