Robin Singh to lead India in HK Sixes tourney

Published: Tuesday, November 7, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hong Kong:Former India player Robin Singh will lead the country's title defence in the Cathay Pacific/Standard Chartered International Cricket Sixes tournament here.

Six of last year's title-winning side will return to the Kowloon Cricket Club (KCC) this weekend. The only change to the seven-man squad is the inclusion of Rohan Gavaskar in place of Vivek Razdan.

Sanjay Bangar, Nikhil Chopra, Sunil Joshi, Hrishikesh Kanitkar and last year's Player of the Tournament Reetinder Singh Sodhi are the other members.

India have been drawn in Pool I in the nine-team event alongwith Australia and the West Indies. Pool II consists of England, New Zealand and South Africa, while Pool III is made up of Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Hong Kong.

Among the big names who have confirmed participation in this tournament are South African Nicky Boje, ex-England Test stars Darren Gough and Dominic Cork, West Indians Carlton Baugh and Marlon Samuels and Pakistanis Imran Nazir and Yasir Arafat.

With inspired performances from the veteran skipper and all-rounder Sodhi, India upset the odds last year, defeating the West Indies in the final in the tournament which also had South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

It was India's first success in the world's richest and most prestigious Sixes event after finishing runners-up in 1992 and 1996.

Captain Robin, who contributed a typically pugnacious 34 with the bat in a Player-of-the-Final performance last year, will be hoping to motivate his team to another triumph this year.

India Squad: Sanjay Bangar, Nikhil Chopra, Rohan Gavaskar, Sunil Joshi, Hrishikesh Kanitkar, Robin Singh (captain), Reetinder Singh Sodhi.


Write Comments