Banks, Powell included in WI Test squad for Pak

Published: Tuesday, November 7, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Lahore:The West Indies cricket squad arrived here to play three Tests and five one-day internationals during their first tour of Pakistan in nine years.

The West Indies had refused to tour Pakistan over security concerns in the wake of September 11 attacks and Pakistan had to play their home series on neutral grounds in Sharjah, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in 2002.

They last toured Pakistan in 1997.

West Indies, who finished runners-up to Australia in the Champions Trophy in India on Sunday, have no pre-tour security fears now as England and arch-rivals India toured Pakistan in the past 12 months.

Legendary batsman Brian Lara is leading the 15-man side which has one uncapped player in opener Lendl Simmons.

Marlon Samuels, Wavell Hinds, Ian Bradshaw, Carlton Baugh and Dwayne Smith - who all were part of the team in the Champions Trophy - were dropped for the Test series against Pakistan.

Off-spinner Omari Banks, who last played a Test during the tour of Sri Lanka over a year ago, alongwith left-arm Dave Mohammed form the spin attack of the tourists.

Daren Powell makes a return, after missing the home series against India and Zimbabwe earlier this year, to strengthen the pace department which also includes Jerome Taylor, Fidel Edwards, Corey Collymore and Dwayne Bravo.

West Indies open the tour with a two-day match here from Wednesday. The first of three Tests starts here from Nov 11.

The Squad:

Brian Lara (Capt), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Daren Ganga, Lendl Simmons, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Runako Morton, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Daren Powell, Jerome Taylor, Omari Banks and Dave Mohammed. Coach: Bennet King


Write Comments