Windies elect to bat against Pak in Lahore Test

Published: Friday, November 10, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Lahore:West Indies won the toss and decided to bat in the first Test against Pakistan at Gadaffi stadium here today.

The tourists entered the Test here on Saturday with a four-pronged pace attack with a lone spinner Dave Mohammed on a seemingly slow pitch which is expected to take turn after the third day.

Pakistan are without their two key strike bowlers Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif who were banned last week after they tested positive for banned steroid nandrolone.

Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq returned after missing the Champions Trophy in India, following a four-match ban on charges of bringing the game into disrepute during the Oval Test against England in August.

Pakistan left out rookie uncapped paceman Samiullah Niazi and relied on the experience of Umar Gul, Shahid Nazir and Abdul Razzaq backed up by leg-spinner Danish Kaneria in their bowling attack.

Nazir makes early inroads: Pak swing bowler Shahid Nazir made early inroads into the Windies top order to leave them reeling on 52 for 4 in the first Test played here at Gaddafi stadium.

Nazir, sticking to the basics, tested batsmen with his immaculate line and length. He claimed three wickets in quick succession including the price scalp of Gayle.

Darren Ganga (3) was the first to go caught at slips by Younis Khan off Gul. Man-in-form Gayle (34 off 28 balls, 6X4s), who had a blazing start, immediately followed him, when he was trapped infront to a length ball off Nazir.

Nazir in his fourth over induced Sarwan (3) to nick with a peach of an inswinger only to be holed out to Younis Khan stationed at second slips. Windies slumped to 52 for 4 when Nazir claimed his third wicket by removing the danger man Chanderpaul (5) trapping him plumb infront.

Windies, at present were 70 for 4 with skipper Lara (5) and Dwayne Bravo (16) were at the crease trying hard to dole out their team of early setback.


West Indies: Brian Lara (capt), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Daren Ganga, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Jerome Taylor and Dave Mohammed

Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Imran Farhat, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal (wk), Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Nazir, Umar Gul and Danish Kaneria

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Aus), Asoka de Silva (SL) and TV umpire: Nadeem Ghouri (Pak)

Match Referee: Roshan Mahanama (SL)


Write Comments