Pakistan elect to bat against West Indies

Published: Sunday, November 19, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Multan:Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq won the toss and elected to bat in the second Test against the West Indies at Multan cricket stadium here.

The Pakistan side remained unchanged from the first Test in Lahore which they won by nine wickets.

The West Indies surprisingly dropped their out of form vice captain Ramnaresh Sarwan and fast bowler Fidel Edwards and brought in batsman Runako Morton and paceman Daren Powell.

Middle-order batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul recovered from stomach problem and is playing his 100th Test. He becomes the 42nd player in the world and eighth West Indian to play 100 or more Tests.

Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Imran Farhat, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Nazir, Umar Gul, Danish Kaneria.

West Indies: Brian Lara (capt), Chris Gayle, Daren Ganga, Runako Morton, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Corey Collymore, Daren Powell, Jerome Taylor, Dave Mohammed

Umpires: Daryl Harper (AUS), Mark Benson (ENG)

Television umpire: Zameer Haider (PAK)

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)


Write Comments