Proteas elect to bat against India in Durban

Published: Wednesday, November 22, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Durban:South Africa won the toss and decided to bat in the second one-day international between South Africa and India at Kingsmead.

South Africa opted for an all-seam bowling attack on a well-grassed pitch, while India picked a side with seven batsmen and only four specialist bowlers.

No play was possible at Johannesburg in the first clash of the five-match series Sunday.

There were clear skies over Kingsmead for the start of the second match, although there was a 30 percent possibility of showers later.

South Africa started as favourites, having won three out of four one-day internationals against India at Kingsmead, with one washed out.

India were still without opening batsman Virender Sehwag, who suffered a finger injury before the team's warm-up match in Benoni last Thursday.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Loots Bosman, Jacques Kallis, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Mark Boucher, Justin Kemp, Shaun Pollock, Charl Langeveldt, Andre Nel, and Mahkaya Ntini.

India: Rahul Dravid (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Wassim Jaffer, Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Mongia, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan and Munaf Patel

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI), Ian Howell (RSA)

TV umpire: Brian Jerling (RSA)

Match referee: Chris Broad (Eng)


Write Comments