AP bowls out Haryana for 129, takes 73-run lead

Published: Friday, November 24, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Rohtak:Andhra Pradesh bowlers ran through the Haryana line-up to skittle out the hosts for a paltry 129 runs, thus earning the visitors a 73-run first innings lead on day two of the Ranji Trophy match here today.

However, Andhra batsmen looked equally unimpressive in their second innings and were 67 for three in their second innings at stumps. They had scored 202 all out in their first essay.

Earlier, resuming on eight for no loss, Haryana met disasters one after another. After 10 runs were added to the overnight score, opener Sunny Singh (7) edged D Kalyankrishna to perish edge behind and that was just the beginning of a long procession of batsmen who walked into the middle, threw their bat at everything and returned without making any impact.

Opener Sumit Sharma (27) and captain Amit Mishra (27) saved Haryana the blushes, else the score would not have crossed the 100-run mark.

For the visitors, KS Sahabuddin was pick of the bowlers, claiming three wickets for 23.


Andhra Pradesh first innings 202 all out

Haryana 1st innings (Overnight 8 for no loss) Sumit Sharma c Pradeep b RVC Prasad 27 Sunny Singh c MSK Prasad b Kalyankrishna 7 D Joon c MSK Prasad b Gnaneswara Rao 4 Shafiq Khan c Varma b Kalyankrishna 3 S Rana c Pradeep b Sahabuddin 18 M Rawat c MSK Prasad b RVC Prasad 2 S Verma c Gnaneswara b Sahabuddin 2 Joginder Sharma c Venugopal b Gnaneswara Rao 7 A Mishra lbw b Faiq 27 G Vashisht c MSK Prasad b Sahabuddin 18 S Budhwar not out 2

Extras (B-1, LB-4, W-2, NB-5) 12 Total (All out in 68.3 overs) 129

Fall of wickets: 1/18 2/38 3/47 4/54 5/64 6/67 7/79 8/79 9/123

Bowling: KS Sahabuddin 17.3-6-23-3 D Kalyankrishna 18-6-53-2 RVC Prasad 14-3-19-2 Y Gnaneswara Rao 7-2-17-2 YL Kishore 6-5-4-0 Y Venugopal Rao 2-1-2-0 M Faiq 4-1-6-1

Andhra 2nd innings: MSK Prasad lbw b Budhwar 13 LNP Reddy not out 28 ASK Varma c Shafiq Khan b Joginder 3 Y Venugopal Rao c Rawat b Rana 14 M Faiq not out 3

Extras (B-1, LB-1, W-1, NB-3) 6

Total (For 3 wickets in 25.4 overs) 67

Fall of wickets: 1/22 2/25 3/59

Bowling: Joginder Sharma 11-3-22-1 S Budhwar 10-0-30-1 S Rana 4.4-0-13-1


Write Comments