Ganguly fined as Bengal beat Punjab by 14 runs

Published: Saturday, November 25, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mohali:Bengal captain Sourav Ganguly was fined for slow over rate even though his side defeated hosts Punjab by 14 runs in the low-scoring Elite Group 'B' match of the Ranji Trophy at the PCA Stadium here today.

Chasing a victory target of 148 runs on a pace-friendly track, Punjab's second innings terminated at 133 in 59.3 overs and 281 minutes on the third day.

Bengal team was fined 10 per cent of the match fee and captain Ganguly 20 per cent for bowling two overs short in Punjab's second innings.

Inept batting by the top Punjab batsmen led to their doom in both innings. Their top five batsmen were back in the pavilion for just 64 runs on the board in the second innings.

Gourav Gupta made a painstaking 41 with the help of four fours before he offered a sizzling return catch to wrecker-in-chief Ashok Dinda (5 for 57). Gupta was the last batsman to be dismissed in Punjab's second innings which folded at 133. Gupta occupied the crease for 202 minutes and faced 126 balls.

Ganguly and Ranadeb Bose got two wickets each for 31 and 35 runs, respectively. Ganguly contributed 6 and 43 with the bat and claimed five wickets in the match with his gentle medium swing.

Earlier, Bengal, overnight 112 for four, were dismissed for 148 in their second venture on the third morning. Abhishek Jhunjunwala (46), Sourav Ganguly (43) and Deep Dasgupta (21) were their main scorers.

Young Punjab medium pacer V R V Singh bowled with fire. His impressive spell fetched him four wickets for 53 runs from 14 overs, one of which was maiden. Love Abhlish (3 for 34) and Gagandeep (2 for 40) also helped Punjab restrict Bengal to 148 in 50 overs.


Bengal 1st innings: 156 Punjab

1st innings: 157 Bengal Second innings: SG Das c Gupta b Ablash 6 Arindam Das c Dharmani b Ablash 0 AA Jhunjhunwala c Gupta b Gagandeep 46 RS Gavaskar lbw b Ablash 0 SC Ganguly lbw b Gagandeep 43 D Dasgupta c Goel b Singh 21 LR Shukla lbw b Singh 8 SS Lahiri b Singh 7 RR Bose b Singh 2 Eklak Ahmid run out (Sodhi) 0 A Dinda not out 0

Extras (B-1, LB-4, NB-10) 15 Total (All out in 50 overs) 148

Fall of wickets: 1/6, 2/7, 3/7, 4/77, 5/121, 6/137, 7/137, 8/143, 9/143

Bowling: Gagandeep Singh 16-4-40-2 L Ablash 14-4-34-3 VRV Singh 14-1-53-4 A Uniyal 5-1-12-0 Rajesh Sharma 1-0-4-0

Punjab Second innings: RS Ricky c Dasgupta b Dinda 7 K Goel lbw b Bose 5 Muneesh Sharma c Arindam Das b Dinda 10 P Dharmani b Bose 11 RS Sodhi b Ganguly 23 G Gupta c&b Dinda 41 A Uniyal c Dasgupta b Dinda 8 Gagandeep Singh lbw b Eklak Ahmid 7 Rajesh Sharma hit wicket b Dinda 11 VRV Singh c Arindam Das b Ganguly 1 L Ablash not out 3

Extras (B-4, LB-2) 6 Total (All out in 59.3 overs) 133

Fall of wickets: 1/13, 2/17, 3/36, 4/54, 5/64, 6/86, 7/102, 8/118, 9/119

Bowling: RR Bose 16-4-35-2 A Dinda 19.3-3-57-5 SC Ganguly 18-4-31-2 Eklak Ahmid 6-3-4-1


Write Comments