JP claims 9 wickets as Railways win by 14 runs

Published: Sunday, November 26, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi:Gritty half centuries by Monish Mishra (87) and Sunil Dholpure (53) made it a tense affair before Railways bowlers earned the hosts a 14-run win over Madhya Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy Plate Group 'A' match here today.

Railways pocketed four points by virtue of the win.

Resuming on 79 for four with Monish and veteran Amay Khurasia taking guards, Madhya Pradesh needed another 187 runs to win the match. Both the batsmen started on a cautious note and the score reached 10 when Santosh Saxena removed Khurasia (32) and after that, MP lost wickets at regular intervals. The writing was clear on the wall when Sanjay Bangar trapped Monish to end his 220-ball knock that included 13 hits to the fence.

Down the order, Sunil Dholpure played a defiant knock of 53 to delay the inevitable before JP Yadav caught him plumb in front of wicket and eventually, the visitors were all out for 251.

JP, who had claimed five wickets in the first innings, returned with another four in the second essay to complete a match haul of nine wickets. JP had also slammed 78 in Railways' first innings even though he could score only 1 in the second.

Left arm spinner Murali Kartik and Sanjay Bangar too grabbed two wickets apiece in the second innings.

Brief score: Railways 1st innings 303 all out Madhya Pradesh 1st innings 158 all out Railways 2nd innings 120 all out Madhya Pradesh 2nd innings 251 all out


Write Comments