South Africa elect to bat in Port Elizabeth

Published: Wednesday, November 29, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Port Elizabeth:South Africa captain Graeme Smith won the toss for the third match in a row and elected to bat against India.

India were forced to make a change with captain Rahul Dravid out because of a broken finger and his team trail 2-0 after two crushing defeats.

It's a must win situation for India to avert series defeat against home side Proteas.

Wasim Jaffer replaced him and they also dropped spinner Harbhajan Singh for the match in Port Elizabeth.

South Africa made one change, bringing back Andre Nel and leaving out pace bowler Charl Langeveldt.

Zaheer strikes early for India: Left-arm seamer Zaheer Khan struck in the very first over for India when he trapped the struggling Proteas skipper Smith. Zaheer claimed his bunny Smith for the third time in row in the series. Two overs later Sreesanth replacing Harbhajan produced a gem of a yorker to disturb the furniture of Loots Bosman (0). South Africa were 6/2 in two overs with seasoned campaigner Kallis and Gibbs were at the crease


India: Wasim Jaffer, Virender Sehwag (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Dhoni (wk), Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble and S Sreesanth

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Loots Bosman, Jacques Kallis, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Justin Kemp, Mark Boucher (wk), Shaun Pollock, Andrew Hall, Andre Nel and Makhaya Ntini


Write Comments