Proteas elect to bat against India in Twenty20

Published: Friday, December 1, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesburg:South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first in the Twenty20 day/night tie with India in Johannesburg.

After the one-day match at The Wanderers was washed out, further bad weather threatened to delay the start.

Two hours before the match began the covers were on, but the skies lifted and there was sunshine before play.

It was the fourth time in a row that skipper Graeme Smith has won the toss.

India rested Anil Kumble and Mohd Kaif and opted for Harbhajan and Suresh Raina. While Proteas is keen to test their bench strength. Kallis, Pollack, Nel and Ntini make way for Telemaches, Van der Wath, Henderson and Morkel. The Teams:

India: Virender Sehwag (c) S Tendulkar, M Dhoni (wk), D Mongia, D Karthick, S Raina, I Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan and Sreesanth


South Africa: Graema Smith Loots Bosman, Justin Kemp, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Morkel, Van der Wath, Roger Telemaches, Henderson and Langveldt


Write Comments