Haryana makes 287 in first essay against TN

Published: Sunday, December 10, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai:Tamil Nadu let Haryana off the hook allowing them to score 287 in their first innings and were struggling at 80 for three at stumps on the second day of the Elite Group A Ranji trophy cricket championship league match at the M A Chidambaram stadium here today.

The Haryana bowlers hit back after their innings ended 81 minutes after lunch lasting 157.2 overs, thanks to some rearguard rescue act by captain Amit Mishra batting lower down the order. He scored 50 runs off 78 balls with the help of eight fours and put on 42 runs for the ninth wicket with G Vaishisht (6, 75 balls).

Overnight batsmen Sandeep Singh (28, 179 balls, six fours) and M Rawat (42, 126 balls, six fours) made the Tamil Nadu bowlers toil again after Haryana resumed the innings at the overnight score of 169 for 4. The Haryana captain played the Tamil Nadu off spinner, debutant Ashwin well.

Ashwin (4-93) and C Suresh 4-54) were the most successful bowlers for Tamil Nadu.

However, Tamil Nadu, who batted cautiously to see the day off and hoping for a big total prevent batting again, were under pressure losing opener S Anirudha for 23 after he put on 60 runs for the first wicket with M Vijay.

Vijay made 34 off 77 balls, studded with six fours while Anirudha fell to a catch behind the wicket off Haryana medium pacer J Sharma (2-33). There was further setbacks for Tamil Nadu when no 3 batsman R Prasanna fell for a duck off eight balls, bowled by J Sharma.

Skipper S Badrinath walked out with the onus on him to take on the Haryana bowling. But he had the mortification of seeing Vijay falling for 34 off 77 balls with six fours, to a catch at first slip by D Joon off Amit Mishra. However, Badrinath batting on 11 and left hander C Suresh, who was yet to get off the mark saw through to stumps.

Brief Scores: Haryana 287, Amit Sharma 50, M Rawat 40, R Ashwin 4-93, C Suresh 4-54), Tamil Nadu 80-3 (M Vijay 34, Anirudha 23, J Sharma 2-33)


Write Comments