Sachin gets Best ODI Bowling Performance Award!

Published: Thursday, December 14, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesburg:Sachin Tendulkar was the surprise choice for the best ODI bowling performance, while dashing wicketkeeper bat Mahendra Singh Dhoni was adjudged the most promising newcomer in the eighth Castrol Awards for Cricketing Excellence here.

Tendulkar was given the award, introduced this year, for his five for 50 against Pakistan in April last year. Tendulkar was also felicitated for breaking Sunil Gavaskar's record of 34 Test centuries by Gavaskar himself.

The awards were organised outside India for the first time since being instituted in 1997 and honoured past and present cricketers for their contribution to the game.

Team India skipper Rahul Dravid was named the Indian Cricketer of the Year and his hundreds against Pakistan in the 2005 series also fetched him the Best Batting Performance in Test Matches award.

Dhoni's 183-run blitzkrieg against Sri Lanka in a home series was chosen as the best ODI batting performance. Veteran leg-spinner Anil Kumble's 3/45 and 7/63 against Pakistan in the 2005 tour were selected as the Best Test bowling performance.

The awards evening kicked off with a special citation and award to former South African captain and the first Managing Director of the United Cricket Board of South Africa Dr Ali Bacher. The award was received on Dr Bacher's behalf by his son David.

A special memento to commemorate the 15th Anniversary of South Africa's return to International cricket was presented to the current South African team. The memento was received by Shaun Pollock on behalf of the South African team.

Special cricketing awards were also given away to four South African cricketers who had best performances against India during the last 15 years. The receipents included Gary Kirsten (Best Batting Performance Award), Allan Donald (Best Bowling Performance Award), Shaun Pollock (Best All Rounder Award), Jonty Rhodes (Best Fielder Award).


Write Comments