Blind~~s WC: Pakistan retain champions title

Published: Sunday, December 17, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Lahore:Defending champions Pakistan outplayed India by six wickets in the final to retain the Cricket World Cup for the Blind in Islamabad.

Pakistan won the toss and invited India to bat first. The Indians scored 225 for seven in their 40 overs before the defending champions overhauled the target in 29.2 overs to become World Champions for the second successive time.

The hosts lost only four wickets during their chase at the Pindi Cricket Stadium.

For the Indians, Shahbash Boya top-scored with 54. His efforts were complemented by Daleep Mandis who fell just three runs short of his fifty.

However, the duo's efforts were negated by the Pakistani fielders, who were athletic in the field and built pressure on the Indians, making them struggle for every run.

India managed to put on 225 in their 40 overs and the total proved inadequate as Noor Qureshi slammed an unbeaten 102 to guide the hosts to victory with more than 10 overs in hands.

Muhammad Akram (62) and Aamir Isfaq (47) also chipped in as Pakistan flayed the Indian attack.

Daleep Mandis and Nana Gee shared a wicket apiece for India. Noor Qureshi was declared man of the match for his brilliant hundred.


Write Comments