Karnataka all out for 111 against Andhra

Published: Tuesday, December 26, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Anantapur:Andhra were in the driver's seat, dismissing Karnataka for a paltry 111 in their first innings in the Ranji Trophy elite Group-A match being played here today.

Andhra were 62 without loss in 34 overs at the draw of stumps on day two, taking their lead to 189 runs with 10 wickets in hand.

Opener L N P Reddy (21) was giving company to M S K Prasad (38, 4x4, 1x6) at the crease.

Doddapaneni Kalyankrishna was the star of the second day's play, creating havoc in the Karnataka camp with his best performance in the Ranji Trophy by dismissing six batsmen for 43 runs, that triggered the opposition's collapse. Kalyankrishna, a right arm medium pacer, surpassed his previous best first class performance of 6 for 56 runs.

Earlier A S K Varma completed his second first class century but failed to surpass his best score of 105, as he was run out by Vinay Kumar's throw. He made 103 in 234 balls that included eight boundaries and two sixers. With his departure, Andhra's first innings came to an end at 238.

Karnataka's joy was, however, short-lived as they kept losing wickets with the fall of opener Robin Uthappa, who was caught by R V C Prasad off Shahabuddin for 15.

The new batsman Chougule tried to settle down at the wicket in the company of Rowland, but was bowled beautifully by Kalyankrishna for just three runs. Seven runs later Shahabuddin struck once again to remove Rowland Barrington after the batsman made 33 runs off 82 balls with the help of five fours. This triggered the collapse of Karnataka with Kalyankrishna creating havoc at the other end.

At this juncture, Karnataka lost four wickets without adding any run to their score. With the collapse of their middle order, Karnataka could not recover and their innings folded up at the Nelson's figure of 111 in 43.2 overs. Only Sunil Joshi (24, 23 balls, 3x4) and Vinay Kumar (17, 39 balls, 1x4) could put up resistance to the Andhra medium pacers.

Brief scores:

Andhra 1st innings:) 238 (VenugopalRao 69, MSK Prasad 27)

Karnataka 1st innings: 111 (Rowland 33, Uthappa 15, Joshi 24, Vinay Kumar 17)

Andhra 2nd Innings: 62 (MSK Prasad 35, LNP Reddy 21)


Write Comments