Unchanged Australian side for fifth Ashes Test

Published: Friday, December 29, 2006, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney:Selectors declined to call on the use of a second spinner when they named an unchanged Australian side for the fifth and final Ashes Test against England starting Tuesday at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

There was no place for leg-spinner Stuart MacGill when the team was named for the anticipated spin-friendly pitch at SCG.

The Australians are chasing the first Ashes 5-0 series clean sweep in 85 years with victory in the Sydney Test.

The New Year Test also marks the final match for all-time great Australian bowlers Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath, who have announced their retirements from Test cricket.

Left-arm seamer Mitchell Johnson will be the 12th man.

The Squad:

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist (vice-capt, wk) Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Justin Langer, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath, Andrew Symonds and Shane Warne. Mitchell Johnson (12th man).


Write Comments