South Africa unchanged for Pakistan series

Published: Sunday, January 7, 2007, 16:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Cape Town:South Africa named an unchanged 16-man squad for a three-Test series against Pakistan after defeating India by five wickets in the decisive third Test at Newlands.

All 14 men who played in the series against India were selected, together with back-up spin bowler Paul Adams and batsman Jacques Rudolph.

The first Test against Pakistan starts at Centurion Thursday and the teams will play three Tests in successive weeks.

Pakistan started their tour with a three-day warm-up match against a Rest of South Africa team in Kimberley Saturday and made a promising start.

Openers Imran Farhat and Mohammad Hafeez both made centuries as the Pakistanis reached 401 for three at the end of the first day.

Farhat and Hafeez both retired, on 108 and 106 respectively and the only wicket that fell to a bowler was that of Yasir Hameed, who was caught off left-arm seamer Yusuf Abdullah for 79. Younis Khan was unbeaten on 74.

South African selection convenor Haroon Lorgat said the squad had been picked for all three Tests.

"We remain confident with our plans to build a successful Test squad and have therefore retained the same squad," he said.

The Test will be followed by matches in Port Elizabeth and Cape Town.

South African squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Jacques Kallis (vice-captain), Paul Adams, Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Hall, Paul Harris, Morne Morkel, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Shaun Pollock, Ashwell Prince, Jacques Rudolph, Dale Steyn.


Write Comments