Australia elect to bat in Twenty20 match

Published: Tuesday, January 9, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney:Australia captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat first in the Twenty20 cricket international against England at Sydney Cricket Ground here.

Australia went into the match without pace duo Brett Lee, suffering from a chest infection, and Mitchell Johnson, with minor abdominal strain.

They were replaced in the squad by all-rounder James Hopes and quick Shane Harwood. Hopes was named 12th man for the match.

England recalled Michael Vaughan from a knee injury for his first clash with Australia on the tour.

Skipper Vaughan will be keen to instil some confidence in the camp after the Andrew Flintoff-led England was beaten 5-0 in the Ashes Test series which ended last week.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Mike Hussey, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Cameron White, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken, Ben Hilfenhaus, Shane Harwood, James Hopes (12th man).

England: Michael Vaughan (captain), Ed Joyce, Andrew Flintoff, Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Paul Nixon, Jamie Dalrymple, Jon Lewis, James Anderson, Monty Panesar, Liam Plunkett (12th man).


Write Comments