Pakistan elect to bat in first South Africa Test

Published: Thursday, January 11, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Centurion:Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat in the first Test against South Africa at Centurion Park.

Pakistan opted to strengthen their batting, with only four recognised bowlers in the side.

The injured fast bowler Umar Gul was missing as was his replacement, Shoaib Akhtar, who only arrived in South Africa Wednesday.

Mohammad Asif, Shahid Nazir and Naved-ul-Rana made up Pakistan's pace attack, backed by leg-spinner Danish Kaneria.

South Africa made one change from the side that beat India in Cape Town last week, with Andre Nel replacing Dale Steyn in a switch of fast bowlers. Steyn is being managed carefully while recovering from a thigh strain.

South African wicketkeeper Mark Boucher was playing in his 100th Test, of which 99 have been for South Africa and one for the World XI against Australia last season.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, Ashwell Prince, Herschelle Gibbs, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Andrew Hall, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini.

Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Younis Khan, Faisal Iqbal, Kamran Akmal, Shahid Nazir, Mohammad Asif, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Danish Kaneria.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor and Billy Doctrove (both WIS). TV umpire: Karl Hurter (RSA).

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG).


Write Comments