West Indies win toss, put India into bat

Published: Sunday, January 21, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Nagpur:West Indies captain Brian Lara won the toss and elected to field in the first One-day international against India at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground here today.

India left out Ramesh Powar deciding to go with an extra batsman from the 12 they had announced yesterday, while West Indies left out R Emrit, L Simmons and D S Smith from their squad for the first match.

This is the last One-day international to be played on this ground as the Vidarbha Cricket Association is building its own stadium which would be ready soon on the outskirts of the city and all the matches would be shifted there in the future.

The teams:

India: Rahul Dravid (c), Gautam Gambhir, Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (w-k), Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, S Sreesanth, Dinesh Karthick.

West Indies: Chris Gayle, S Chanderpaul, Manuel Samuels, Brian Lara (C), DR Smith, Runako Morton, Dinesh Ramdin, Darren Powell, Jerome Taylor, Dwayne, Ian Bradshaw

Umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand), Suresh Shastri (India), Third Umpire: G A Pratapkumar (India), Fourth umpire: V N Kulkarni.

Match referee: Alan Hurst (Australia).


Write Comments