New Zealand win toss, bat against Australia

Published: Sunday, January 21, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney:New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming won the toss and elected to bat in the tri-series One-day international against Australia at the SCG here.

The Kiwis dropped spinner Jeetan Patel for Hamish Marshall to allow them to strengthen their batting, and replaced the injured Shane Bond with Michael Mason.

The unbeaten Australians recalled captain Ricky Ponting at the expense of Brad Hodge, with Stuart Clark coming in for fellow pace bowler Mitchell Johnson.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Mike Hussey, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath, Andrew Symonds, Cameron White.

New Zealand: Stephen Fleming (capt), Brendon McCullum, Nathan Astle, Peter Fulton, Ross Taylor, Craig McMillan, Michael Mason, Daniel Vettori, James Franklin, Hamish Marshall, Mark Gillespie.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (PAK) and Simon Taufel (AUS), TV Umpire: Bob Parry (AUS)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)


Write Comments