Lara sends India in to bat in third one-dayer

Published: Saturday, January 27, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai:West Indies captain Brian Lara won the toss and elected to field in the third one-day international against India at the Chidambaram stadium here.

India, leading 2-0 in the four-match series, rested Sourav Ganguly, Harbhajan Singh, Mahendra Dhoni and Zaheer Khan for the day-night clash.

Yuvraj Singh, fit again after suffering a knee ligament injury in November, returns to the team along with veteran spinner Anil Kumble.

Lara was back after missing the previous match in Cuttack on Wednesday with a sore knee.

The tourists rested in-form batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul and brought in Lendl Simmons and rookie all-rounder Reyad Emrit.


India: Rahul Dravid (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, Dinesh Karthick (wk), Suresh Raina, S Sreesanth, Ajit Agarkar, Anil Kumble and Ramesh Powar.

West Indies: Brian Lara (capt), Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Runako Morton, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Reyad Emrit, Daren Powell, Jerome Taylor.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZ) Suresh Shastri (Ind) and TV umpire: Amiesh Saheba (Ind)

Match referee: Alan Hurst (Aus)


Write Comments