Ranji Plate final: Sandeep keeps Himachal in hunt

Published: Tuesday, January 30, 2007, 22:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Cuttack:A brilliant 76 by Himachal Pradesh captain Sandeep Sharma helped the visiting team score 157 for 3 in response to Orissa's first innings total of 317 all out.

At close of play on the second day of the Ranji trophy plate group final match at Barbati Stadium here, Paras Doggra with 29 runs and Vishal Bhatia, who was yet to open his account, were at the crease.

Earlier, resuming at their overnight score of 276 for seven, the Orissa tail enders managed to add 41 runs with Debashish Mohanty scoring 20 runs and Sanjaya Satpathy 19 runs.

Vishal Bhatia emerged as the most successful bowler for Himachal Pradesh claiming six wickets for 84 runs.

In reply, Himachal Pradesh had a sound start with openers Monish Gupta and Sandeep Sharma batting confidently against the Orissa new ball attack. The openers provided the right platform for the visitors' chase. Monish Gupta looked good before being trapped lbw by Sanjaya Satpathy who provided the first breakthrough for Orissa.

Himachal Pradesh captain who scored a strokeful 76 was also trapped leg before by Saurav Shegal. Sangram Singh who came at the fall of the captain's wicket fell as he too was trapped leg before off Debashis Mohanty for three runs.

Brief Score: Orissa 1st Innings 317 all out (Niranjan Behera 69, Rashmi Ranjan Das 55, Vishal Bhatia 6 for 84) Himachal Pradesh 1st Innings: 157 for 3 (Sandeep Sharma 76, Monish Gupta 39) .


Write Comments