Australia win toss and bat in first final

Published: Friday, February 9, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Melbourne:Australian captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat in the first triangular series final against England at the MCG here. The English were forced to leave out captain Michael Vaughan, who was ruled out of the finals by a hamstring strain and was replaced in the side by opener Mal Loye, with Andrew Flintoff to again take over the skipper's duties.

Australia dropped paceman Mitchell Johnson and allrounder Cameron White.

Spinner Brad Hogg was recalled along with allrounder Shane Watson.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Michael Clarke, Shane Watson, Mike Hussey, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken, Brett Lee, Glenn McGrath.

England: Andrew Flintoff (capt) Mal Loye, Paul Collingwood, Ed Joyce, Ian Bell, Andrew Strauss, Jamie Dalrymple, Paul Nixon, Liam Plunkett, Sajid Mahmood, Monty Panesar.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (PAK) Daryl Harper (AUS), Third umpire: Bob Parry (AUS)

Match referee: Mike Procter (RSA)


Write Comments