England decide to bat against Aussies at SCG

Published: Sunday, February 11, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney:England captain Andrew Flintoff won the toss and elected to bat in the second triangular series one-day final against Australia here.

The English had a 1-0 lead in the best-of-three series, after beating Australia by four wickets at the MCG on Friday, and could secure the tri-series with a win here.

The weather was expected to be a factor during the match, with showers forecast for the Sydney area.

Both teams named unchanged sides, with Australia keeping faith with spinner Brad Hogg and allrounder Shane Watson.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist (wk), Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Michael Clarke, Shane Watson, Mike Hussey, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken, Brett Lee and Glenn McGrath.

England: Andrew Flintoff (capt) Mal Loye, Paul Collingwood, Ed Joyce, Ian Bell, Andrew Strauss, Jamie Dalrymple, Paul Nixon (wk), Liam Plunkett, Sajid Mahmood and Monty Panesar.

Umpires: Ian Howell (RSA), Steve Davis (Aus) and Third umpire: Daryl Harper (Aus)

Match referee: Mike Procter (RSA)


Write Comments