Sehwag and Pathan in India's World Cup squad

Published: Monday, February 12, 2007, 13:57 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Feb 12: Indian selectors today decided to retain the same squad that was chosen for the first two One-dayers against Sri Lanka for the world Cup in the Caribbeans. Virender Sehwag and Irfan Pathan, despite their poor form, was retained.

Suresh Raina and Rudra Pratap Singh have been named "as back-up", said Dilip Vengsarkar, the selection committee chairman. The same squad would play the last two One-dayers against Sri Lanka.

Five national selectors, captain Rahul Dravid and coach Greg Chappell met at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium with Niranjan Shah, the Indian board secretary, as convenor.

Team: Rahul Dravid (capt), Ajit Agarkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Sourav Ganguly, Harbhajan Singh, Dinesh Karthik, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble, Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan, Virender Sehwag, Sreesanth, Sachin Tendulkar, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh.

OneIndia News


Write Comments