Pakistan to host Women~~s World Cup Qualifiers

Published: Tuesday, February 20, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai:Pakistan will host the eight-team Women's World Cup Qualifiers in Lahore between Nov 18 and 24, the ICC announced on Tuesday.

Besides the host nation, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea, Bermuda, Ireland, South Africa, Scotland and the Netherlands will all vie for the two available slots in the 2009 Women's World Cup.

Defending champions and hosts Australia, India, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and West Indies have all earned automatic qualification for the 2009 event following their top-six finish in 2005 when it was held in Pretoria, South Africa.

Zimbabwe, in its debut appearance, qualified for the WWCQ from Africa, Papua New Guinea from East Asia-Pacific, Bermuda from the Americas, Scotland and the Netherlands from Europe and Pakistan from Asia.

South Africa and Ireland were not required to pre-qualify for the tournament in Lahore after finishing seventh and eighth respectively in the 2005 Womens World Cup.

Chairperson of ICC Womens Committee Betty Timmer said she was delighted with the interest shown by Pakistan in hosting the WWCQ.

''We are very pleased with the PCBs involvement in the organisation of the event. The dates are now confirmed and we are looking forward to this tournament in Lahore,'' she said.

The venues and detailed schedule for the WWCQ will be announced in due course.

The 2009 World Cup to be staged in Australia will be the first to be played under the auspices of the ICC since its merger with the International Womens Cricket Council (IWCC) in 2005.

The Womens World Cup has been running for longer than the mens version and was first staged in England in 1973, when it was won by the hosts, which beat Australia by 118 runs in the final at Edgbaston, Birmingham.


Write Comments