Pak ban male fans from women~~s WC qualifiers

Published: Wednesday, February 21, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Karachi:Male spectators except family members will be banned when Pakistan hosts the eight-team International Cricket Council (ICC) Women's World Cup qualifiers in November, officials said.

But officials hailed the decision to stage the matches in this conservative Islamic republic as a sign that the country is becoming more moderate and making efforts to allow women to play sport.

The qualifiers will be played in the eastern Pakistani city of Lahore between November 18 and 24, the ICC said in a statement from its headquarters in Dubai.

Besides the hosts, teams from Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea, Bermuda, Ireland, South Africa, Scotland and the Netherlands will all vie for the two available slots in the 2009 ICC Women's World Cup.

Defending champions and hosts Australia, India, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and the West Indies have all earned automatic qualification following their top-six finish in 2005 when the World Cup was held in South Africa.

"The decision proves that women's cricket is progressing in our country and through this event we would promote a softer and moderate image of Pakistan," said Shamsa Hashmi, secretary of the Pakistan Cricket Board women's wing.

Players would wear the standard international dress code, unlike earlier matches in Pakistan that have been played in strict Islamic baggy trousers and long shirts, she said.

But she added: "Males can come to watch only as part of families of those that are playing."

Male officials may also be allowed.

Pakistan held its first national women's championship two years ago.

The Pakistan women's team toured South Africa last month, losing the five-match series 4-0. The fifth match was rained off.

Hashmi said the Pakistani team would put on its best show against some experienced opponents.

Zimbabwe, making their debut, qualified from Africa, Papua New Guinea from East Asia-Pacific, Bermuda from the Americas, Scotland and the Netherlands from Europe.

The top teams will launch their preparations for the 2009 ICC Women's World Cup when Australia, India, England and New Zealand compete in a quadrangular series in Chennai, India, from February 25.

Betty Timmer, chairwoman of the ICC Women's Committee, said she was delighted with the interest shown by Pakistan in hosting the qualifiers.

"We are very pleased with Pakistan's involvement in the organization of the event. We are looking forward to this tournament in Lahore," said Timmer.

The 2009 ICC Women's World Cup will be the first to be played under the auspices of the ICC since its merger with the International Women's Cricket Council in 2005.


Write Comments