Jayawardene chooses to bat against Bermuda

Published: Thursday, March 15, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Port of Spain (T&T):Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene elected to bat against Bermuda in the opening Group B match of the World Cup at the Queen's Park Oval here on Thursday.

Bermuda are making their Cup debut while Sri Lanka are the 1996 champions. India and Bangladesh are other sides in the group, with the top two qualifying for the next Super Eight stage.

Sri Lanka and Bermuda had a light workout at the ground in bright sunshine. The pitch was relaid in 2005 and a couple of one-day internationals have already been played on it.


Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Bermuda: Irving Romaine (capt), Dean Minors, Clay Smith, Janeiro Tucker, Oliver Pitcher, David Hemp, Lionel Cann, Saleem Mukuddem, Delyone Borden, Kevin Hurdle and Dwayne Leverock.

Umpires: Daryl Harper (Aus), Ian Howell (RSA) and TV umpire: Aleem Dar (Pak)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZ)


Write Comments