Bangladesh win toss, put Sri Lanka in to bat

Published: Wednesday, March 21, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Port of Spain, Trinidad:Bangladesh captain Habibul Bashar elected to field after winning the toss against Sri Lanka in a World Cup match at the Queen's Park Oval here on Wednesday.

Both the teams have won their opening matches in Group B, with Sri Lanka defeating debutants Bermuda by 243 runs and Bangladesh beating former champions India by five wickets.

India defeated Bermuda by a record 257 runs for their only win in two matches. The top two sides will advance to the next Super Eight stage.

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh retained the sides which won the first matches.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan.

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar (capt), Shahriar Nafees, Tamim Iqbal, Aftab Ahmed, Saqibul Hasan, Mohammad Ashraful, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Syed Rasel.

Umpires: Daryl Harper (AUS) and Steve Davis (AUS)

TV umpire: Ian Howell (RSA)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)


Write Comments