Canada elects to bowl against Kiwis

Published: Friday, March 23, 2007, 4:24 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Gros Islet (St Lucia):Canada won the toss and asked New Zealand to bat in their final World Cup Group C match on Thursday.

New Zealand, who have already qualified for the Super Eights, rested fast bowler Shane Bond and brought in Daryl Tuffey.

Spinner Jeetan Patel also came in for paceman James Franklin while batsman Peter Fulton replaced injured Ross Taylor.

Eliminated Canada made two changes from Sunday's defeat by England with Henry Osinde and left-arm spinner Kevin Sandher taking the places of George Codrington and Desmond Chumney.

Kenya and England meet here on Saturday to determine the group's other Super Eights qualifier.


New Zealand: Lou Vincent, Stephen Fleming (capt), Peter Fulton, Scott Styris, Craig McMillan, Jacob Oram, Brendon McCullum (wk), Daniel Vettori, Daryl Tuffey, Jeetan Patel and Michael Mason

Canada: John Davison (capt), Geoff Barnett, Ashish Bagai (wk), Ian Billcliff, Abdool Samad, Ashif Mulla, Sunil Dhaniram, Umar Bhatti, Anderson Cummins, Henry Osinde and Kevin Sandher.


Write Comments