Dutch decide to bowl against Scots

Published: Thursday, March 22, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Basseterre (St Kitts):The Netherlands won the toss and chose to field in their Group A match against Scotland here at Warner Park on Thursday.

Both teams went into the match with different captains from their previous games.

Wicketkeeper Jeroen Smits captained the Netherlands in the place of Luuk van Troost, who was left out in favour of Billy Stelling.

Scottish captain Craig Wright, who rejoined the squad on Tuesday after returning home following a death in his family, regained the reins from stand-in skipper Ryan Watson.

The Scots included Navdeep Poonia at the expense of Dewald Nel.

Eric Szwarczynski and Mohammad Kashif replaced Adeel Raja and Alexei Kervezee in the Dutch line-up.

Neither Scotland nor the Netherlands could reach the second round of tournament, the Super Eights.


Scotland: Neil McCallum, Majid Haq, Navdeep Poonia, Ryan Watson, Gavin Hamilton, Dougie Brown, Colin Smith (wk), Craig Wright (capt), John Blain, Glenn Rogers and Paul Hoffman.

Netherlands: Baz Zuiderent, Darron Reekers, Ryan ten Doeschate, Daan van Bunge, Tim de Leede, Mark Jonkman, Billy Stelling, Peter Borren, Jeroen Smits (capt/wk), Eric Szwarczynski and Mohammad Kashif.


Write Comments