Ireland elect to bat against West Indies

Published: Saturday, March 24, 2007, 2:48 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kingston (Jamaica):Ireland won the toss and chose to bat in the World Cup Group D match against West Indies at Sabina Park on Friday.

Both sides made one change to the line-ups from their previous matches.

Ireland have brought John Mooney in to replace captain Trent Johnston, who has not recovered from a shoulder injury he sustained in last Saturday's win against Pakistan.

Kyle McCallan will lead the Irish side in Johnston's absence.

West Indies have included Ian Bradshaw ahead of Corey Collymore in a rotation of their bowlers.

Both sides have secured their pass to the Super Eights of the competition, but the outcome of the match will be vital, since the winning side will start the next stage of the competition with the two points they will gain from victory.

West Indies lead the group with four points, Ireland are second on three, Pakistan are third on two points, and Zimbabwe are last on one.


West Indies: Brian Lara (captain), Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Ian Bradshaw, Daren Powell and Jerome Taylor.

Ireland: Kyle McCallan (captain), Jeremy Bray, William Porterfield, Eoin Morgan, Niall O'Brien (wk), Andre Botha, Kevin O'Brien, Andrew White, John Mooney and Dave Langford-Smith.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZ), Ian Gould (Eng) and Third umpire: Brian Jerling (RSA).

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SL).


Write Comments