Smith chooses to bowl against Australia

Published: Saturday, March 24, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Basseterre (St Kitts&Nevis):South African captain Graeme Smith won the toss and elected to bowl first against Australia in the World Cup Group A match at Warner Park here on Saturday.

South Africa kept the same side which beat Scotland in their last match on Tuesday, while Australia brought back all-rounder Andrew Symonds in place of Brad Hodge from their line-up which beat the Netherlands.

Symonds was cleared to play after last month's arm surgery kept him out of the game for nearly one month. He was playing his first match in the World Cup.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist (wk), Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Glenn McGrath, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait and Shane Watson. Coach: John Buchanan.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher (wk), AB de Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Hall, Justin Kemp, Charl Langeveldt, Makhaya Ntini, Shaun Pollock and Ashwell Prince. Coach: Mickey Arthur.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WI), Mark Benson (Eng) and Third umpire: Tony Hill (NZ).

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL)


Write Comments