Aussies elect to bowl against Bangla in 22-over tie

Published: Sunday, April 1, 2007, 6:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

ST JOHN'S, Antigua (AFP):Australia skipper Ricky Ponting won the toss and decided to bowl against Bangladesh in a rain truncated 22-over a side World Cup Super Eights tie here at Sir Viv Richards Stadium on Saturday.

Two bowlers will be restricted to a maximum of five overs and three to a maximum of four overs, the new restrictions giving Australia's Glenn McGrath, one behind Wasim Akram's record of 52 World Cup wickets, fewer overs to draw level with the Pakistan great in this match.

The match didn't start as scheduled at 9.30am local time (1330GMT) because of a wet outfield caused by heavy rain in Antigua during the last 24 hours. Several wet patches had formed near the edge of the boundary, making conditions potentially dangerous for fieldsmen.

But following the breakdown of one of the main 'super-soppers', groundstaff were reduced to treading in affected areas with pieces of foam while umpires Billy Bowden and Aleem Dar made regular inspections.

As the sun started to come out, and with the pitch uncovered, frustrated spectators began a slow handicap when the match had still not got underway.

However, with blue skies overhead, conditions appeared to favour the game being completed without need of Sunday's reserve day.

Reigning champions Australia, bidding to become the first side to win three successive World Cups after their 1999 and 2003 triumphs, won their opening second round match against hosts West Indies by 103 runs here on Wednesday.

This match was Bangladesh's first in the Super Eights.

Tapash Baisaya replaced fellow pace bowler Syed Rasel in the Bangladesh side while Australia were unchanged.


Australia: Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Michael Hussey, Shane Watson, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken, Shaun Tait and Glenn McGrath.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Shahriar Nafees, Mushfiqur Rahim, Aftab Ahmed, Saqibul Hasan, Habibul Bashar (captain), Mohammad Ashraful, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tapash Baisaya, Mohammad Rafique and Abdur Razzak.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZ) and Aleem Dar (Pak).

ThatsCricket (with inputs from Agencies)

Write Comments