Lara wins toss, puts Sri Lanka in to bat

Published: Sunday, April 1, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Georgetown, Guyana:West Indies captain Brian Lara elected to field after winning the toss against Sri Lanka in a World Cup Super Eights match at the Providence Stadium here on Sunday.

The West Indies are in a must-win situation after losing to defending champions Australia and New Zealand in their first two matches in the second round.

They have two points from three games, thanks to their win over fellow-qualifiers Ireland in the group.

Sri Lanka are playing their second match in the second round, having lost to South Africa here on Wednesday. They have two points from as many games, following their victory over qualifiers Bangladesh in the group.

Sri Lanka made one change from the side that played against South Africa as they brought in paceman Dilhara Fernando in place of Farveez Maharoof.

The West Indies replaced Lendl Simmons and Corey Collymore with pacemen Ian Bradshaw and Jerome Taylor from the side that played the last match against New Zealand.


Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan.

West Indies: Brian Lara (capt), Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Dwayne Smith, Daren Powell, Jerome Taylor, Ian Bradshaw.

Umpires: Mark Benson (ENG) and Daryl Harper (AUS)

TV umpire: Simon Taufel (AUS)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)


Write Comments