WZ Twenty20: Mumbai rout Baroda; Guj pip Maha~~tra

Published: Wednesday, April 4, 2007, 7:09 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:Hosts Mumbai kicked off the West Zone Twenty20 cricket tournament in style by demolishing Baroda by eight wickets, while Gujarat got the better of Maharashtra in a pulsating match by five runs at the Wankhede stadium here on Tuesday.

Mumbai, playing its inaugural match, won the toss and put Baroda in to bat. The visitors were all at sea against the Mumbai bowlers with Rohit Sharma leading the demolition job and taking three for 15 as Baroda crashed to 107 all out in 18.1 overs.

Rishikesh Parab with 38 and Alpesh Patel with 20 were the only batsmen to put up some resistance. India star Irfan Pathan failed with the bat and could make only nine.

Chasing the modest target of 108, Rohit Sharma who cracked an unbeaten 40 and Vinayak Mane who made 22 not out, took Mumbai to victory reaching 109 for two in just 16.1 overs.

Irfan Pathan once again failed to discover his bowling form going for 35 runs in his three overs.

In the second match, Gujarat, batting first after winning the toss, piled up a huge score of 196 for three with Neeraj Patel cracking an unbeaten 45 in just 24 balls with the help of five 4s and a six and Vishwajeet Solanki hitting an unbeaten 23-ball half century which was studded with five sixes and two boundaries.

In reply, Maharashtra were kept in the game by a 149-run fifth-wicket partnership between captain Sairaj Bahutule (64 in 42 balls with four boundaries and three sixers) and Yogesh Takawale (89 in 46 balls with five sixers and three fours).

However, with just 12 runs required from 12 balls, Maharashtra lost the way as Bahutule was run out and Gujarat held their nerves to carve out a five-run victory.

Brief scores:

Baroda 107 all out in 18.1 overs (Rishikesh Parab 38, Alpesh Patel 20; Rohit Sharma 3 for 15, I Abdullah 2 for 19) lost to Mumbai 109 for two in 16.1 overs (Rohit Sharma 40 not out, Vinayak Mane 22 not out) by eight wickets.

Gujarat 196 for three in 20 overs (Vishwajeet Solanki 50 not out, Neeraj Patel 45; Kedar Jadhav 2 for 41) beat Maharashtra 191 for seven in 20 overs (Yogesh Takawale 89, S Bahutule 64) by five runs.


Write Comments