Fleming chooses to bat against Lanka

Published: Friday, April 13, 2007, 1:26 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

St George's (Grenada):New Zealand skipper Stephen Fleming won the toss and decided to bat first in their Super Eight match against Sri Lanka at the National Cricket Stadium, St. Georges in Grenada.

Ross Taylor and Mark Gillespie were included in the Kiwi squad, replacing Hamish Marshall and Jeetan Patel while for Lanka all-rounder Farveez Maharoof replaces injured paceman Lasith Malinga.

Vaas makes early inroads into Kiwi top order: Ever relaible Lanka seamer Chaminda Vaas once again got his side off to a fine start, dismissing Stephen Fleming and Ross Taylor in his first 2 overs.

Fleming was trapped infront and fell for a duck in the first over of the match.

Ross Taylor, making a comeback from injury, also followed his skipper back to the pavilion very soon. He nicked a perfect away going delivery from Vaas only to give a regulation catch to gloveman Sangakkara, who did the rest, to leave Kiwis reeling on 4 for 2 after 3 overs.


Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Silva, Dilshan Tilakratne, Russel Arnold, Maharoof, Vaas, Fernando and Muralitharan. Coach: Tom Moody.

New Zealand: Peter Fulton, Stephen Fleming, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Craig McMillan, McCullum, Oram, Vettori, Gillespie, Franklin and Shane Bond. Coach: John Bracewell.

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI) and Asad Rauf (Pak).


Write Comments